Posted on

I only have one tenor or tenner

 

don’t perceive me

don’t make me Julio Iglesias

don’t make me Enrique either

I mean he runs the pub

and trains

I mean she has vermillion hair

and has looked at me twice

like how girls looked at me circa 2001

when did this all become a joke

if I was in a borough

one of the boroughs

not one of ours

I’d need a moustache

I need a punch line

don’t they know what a bird is

I mean bird in its dialectal form

don’t they know I carried a rucksack full

of stones across two counties

there must have been boroughs

there must have been moustaches

and cans of Hawaiian beer

blue cans

 

ps this guy walks into a bar

Julio Iglesias pours him a pint

(true story)

About michaeleganpoetry

Liverpool based poet and editor. I have had four pamphlets of poetry published, most recently After Stikklestad (Knives, Forks and Spoons Press, 2010). Penned in the Margins published my first collection, Steak & Stations, in 2010.

Leave a Reply

