Posted on

every poem needs a catchy title or one somehow suggesting a mediocre Oxbridge education and position amongst the higher levels of the middle classes and a good knowledge of a foreign language preferably French and you should probably have an animal in the poem too but the animal should be a metaphor for sex or marital breakdown or quasi-mythical and Châteauneuf-du-Pape mon petit pois

 

This wolf pelt you skinned is our love.

You wear it in the garden at night, mon loup-garou.

I find you feeding on your Rousseau,

every page of your cherished Descartes.

When we were at Cambridge I let you devour my innocence,

let you convince me I needed nourishment.

Now you scratch at our bedroom, push Meditations under the door.

You’re hungry. I’m not hungry anymore.

About michaeleganpoetry

Liverpool based poet and editor. I have had four pamphlets of poetry published, most recently After Stikklestad (Knives, Forks and Spoons Press, 2010). Penned in the Margins published my first collection, Steak & Stations, in 2010.

Leave a Reply

