Posted on

poem composed in a room

 

shadow rabbit/shadow bishop

and the rabbi or my grandfather

and the flickering or my grandfather

a grecian urn

mode

medium I mean I’m a median

I mean I’ve read Blood Meridian

it’s odd that there are shoes

but no feet it’s odd that she’s

naked and angelic a farewell

to wings I fear the sun’s rising

can’t cross bridges at sunset

river shimmering

and the river shimmers or my grandfather

jade urn

a light backed into the corner

lamp retreat

like a dog afraid of water

like a hose afraid of water

like water afraid of form

burning sage

too many moons or my grandfather

I noticed on this night

that I’m being followed

by too many self-published authors

I keep asking myself how did this happen

I’m not self-published or my grandfather

imageless can’t get the images to wake

it’s an old TV

a pine cone for your thoughts

if I’m honest I keep thinking

I should stay up all night and write

four chapters

isn’t a burden isn’t a big ask

or my grandfather

but I know in the morning this room

will be chaos

say a supernova is a red crucifix

or my grandfather

coasting I mean coasters I mean

coast to coast there are too many dunes to climb

we lit candles for my grandfather

the godly kind god waking candles

full of prayers and incense

someone hung foam stars from the ceiling

and let all but one of the candles go out

I can’t remember what prayer the candle held

I can’t remember anything from the early 90’s

or my grandfather

About michaeleganpoetry

Liverpool based poet and editor. I have had four pamphlets of poetry published, most recently After Stikklestad (Knives, Forks and Spoons Press, 2010). Penned in the Margins published my first collection, Steak & Stations, in 2010.

Leave a Reply

