Posted on

Part Three Glaia Urruyeal Chapter Three

 

Dear Diary,

Some days I can hardly remember Fell-1 but then there are days when it’s like I’m back there just by closing my eyes.

            I’m in the yapay fields and the lilac petals of the yapay flower are rushing through my fingers as I run to mummy.  I can see the glass towers of Noorava in the distance and the third sun is finally setting.  

            “What are you doing here?” asks Mummy.

            She pushes me away.  She turns away from me and starts walking off towards a copse of black branched rahaihi.

            When I open my eyes I’m in my bedroom. I can smell yapay scent but only because daddy likes it pumped through the air conditioning.  It’s not real yapay.

            It’s still raining and the air that comes in through my open window is much cleaner, much less stifling.  For the first time since I’ve been here I feel like I can breathe.  My gills don’t even open.

            I close my eyes again but the yapay field doesn’t come. Instead all I can see are daddy’s guards dragging the earther female away.

About michaeleganpoetry

Liverpool based poet and editor. I have had four pamphlets of poetry published, most recently After Stikklestad (Knives, Forks and Spoons Press, 2010). Penned in the Margins published my first collection, Steak & Stations, in 2010.

Leave a Reply

