Posted on

Writing OD

I’ve been working on my novel, OK/Rory – mostly writing draft chapter notes, establishing themes etc.  It’s a strange novel because one half is this boy, Rory, who is sort of living out The Catcher in the Rye, and this girl, OK, from a future of Pale Men, Creatures, malformations and a huge sun. I’m trying to intertwine their stories – Rory finds these photographs of a girl (OK) that sort of lead him on a wild goose chase to find her but at the same time draw him closer to her.  But they can’t meet.  OK exists in Rory’s future. Rory is long dead to OK.  But somehow they will meet.  Sort of ‘love will save the world’ – OK needs to make the connection with Rory to stop the world, both their worlds, getting messed up. There’s a bear in OK’s world and there’s a man dressed as a bear in Rory’s. It’s all very Murakami.  I’m up to about chapter 7 (the chapters alternate between the two characters) but when I sat down to write it last night I started re-reading a children’s novel I wrote. It was called Darke Days and I thought of it as sort of Game of Thrones meets Star Wars. I think the plot and characters are good but I wrote it in the 3rd person and it doesn’t seem right somehow. But the idea of a young adult novel set in space sort of draws me. So last night I started writing this story or book or whatever that by midnight I’d called ‘All Fell Down’. It worries me that I’m writing it because I really like OK/Rory and don’t want to dilute my focus on it. Saying that I’ve written 7,000 words of All Fell Down in two sittings so there must be something in it – maybe it’ll work its way into a novel, maybe it’ll feed somehow into OK/Rory and help me with that. 

I’ll post some chapters of All Fell Down on here but first I’ll give a little synopsis-y type info. The earth has been take over by the Fell. They’re nasty. A boy named Jacob wakes up in a room. He is not on earth. He is told he is a weapon.  The novel is split up into various viewpoints – Jacob, the last two surviving members of the Earth Fleet, a Fell girl called Glaia, a Fell called Rauden who knows the truth about the Fell’s motives, an android who becomes a cube, a computer’s diary/log and a young girl called Haley who is living feral somewhere on earth. I have the idea of a sort of Romeo and Juliet tragedy between Jacob and Glaia (Jacob is a weapon designed to destroy the Fell, Glaia is a Fell with sympathy for humans sentenced to death by her own father).  I don’t think it’ll be a very big book and I think it’ll be dark, violent, fast paced. I think I imagine it to have a sequel that doesn’t involve Jacob or Glaia but focuses on Haley and the cube. Anyway I’ll post some chapters, see if anyone likes them.

About michaeleganpoetry

Liverpool based poet and editor. I have had four pamphlets of poetry published, most recently After Stikklestad (Knives, Forks and Spoons Press, 2010). Penned in the Margins published my first collection, Steak & Stations, in 2010.

One response to “Writing OD

  1. Pingback: Writing OD | Bibliotropic.com

Leave a Reply

