Posted on

Part Three Glaia Urruyeal Chapter One

 

Dear Diary,

It’s not fair what daddy does to the earthers.  It makes me feel sick in my gills. Last night I saw daddy’s soldiers bringing more earthers into the compound.  Mayersula tells me that this place used to be called San Francisco and that it had a bridge made of gold.  Mysersula says gold was precious like amvril.

Myersula makes me learn all about how Fell-4429 was when the earthers called it Earth.

            Mayersula says a Fell must know their conquests but what does Myersula know, he’s just a flick-tongued Waido.  His skin isn’t grey.  His skin is pink like some of the Earthers.  Sometimes I look at Myersula and I think he could be an Earther.  I wonder if he rmembers when we took Waidan.  Did his people get processed?  I don’t get how he doesn’t hate it all too.

            I told Myersula it makes me feel sick to learn of everything we killed.

            He says you can’t kill a place you can only kill living things.

            I tell him the names of all the animals he has taught me were here before our terraforming.  I say bear and wolf and butterfly and wasp and lobster and cat and axolotl and natterjack toad and polecat and many more. He gets angry.  He hits me hard and tells me daddy will beat me harder when he gets back from the Master Cruiser.  I don’t let him know he hurt me.  I just sit and start saying all the animals we’ve brought here.  I say catreean and halak and jio and sersunfly and vup and anakmilakovex and hiap-hiap and poderian and many more.  He thinks I’m showing off. He thinks it’s good that I know all the animals.  He doesn’t get a thing.

            Last night I couldn’t sleep. I kept seeing those poor earthers all chained up being taken to the cages.  How can I sleep when I know soon they’ll be processed and most of them will never leave the cages. They’ll be swept away like how the maids sweep the dirt from my room.  It makes me sick all over.

            Some of the earthers were new.  They were small and had to be held by the truesize earthers. I remember daddy holding me when I was little on Fell-1.

            Mummy was there too.

            I think if mummy was here now daddy wouldn’t want to hurt the earthers so much.  That’s what I like to think anyway.

            Tonight I’m going to show daddy that it’s not right what he does.  I don’t care if he beats me hard.

About michaeleganpoetry

Liverpool based poet and editor. I have had four pamphlets of poetry published, most recently After Stikklestad (Knives, Forks and Spoons Press, 2010). Penned in the Margins published my first collection, Steak & Stations, in 2010.

Leave a Reply

