Posted on

All Fell Down Chapter Two

 

“Time to wake up, Jacob.”

            I’m still a child really.  It should be my father waking me with those words but instead it’s a machine.

            It was the Computer that woke me. 

            I don’t know how I came to be here but I can tell you all about my waking and everything that’s happened since.

            I was thirteen when they put me into altostasis and I was thirteen when the Computer woke me.

            “Time to wake up, Jacob.”

            Does it seem strange that when the computer first woke me I didn’t even know it was talking to me? I’d forgotten my name just like everything else.

            My eyes opened and I saw darkness.  Lights blinked on above me and I sat up.  My neck hurt and when I moved my arms they were stiff and sore.  The room I was in was empty apart  from the bed I was lying on.  The walls were bare.  There was just one door and a strip light on the ceiling.

            “How are you feeling, Jacob?”

            I remember looking around the room expecting to see this Jacob but there was only me.      I asked a silly question then.  Most people in that situation would have probably asked whose voice it was talking to them, where they were, what was happening to them.  I didn’t ask any of that.

            I asked, “Who am I?”

            I looked at my hands.  They looked pale but then I had no idea if that was just how my hands were.  Was I a pale person?  I could almost see the blue of my veins and my nails were bone white.

            “You are Jacob.”

            The voice was calm and cold.  Certain.  I was Jacob.

            When the door opened I expected someone to come in for me.  To take me somewhere.  To tell me where I was. 

            No one came.

            I could see a corridor.  There were strip lights all along it, dimly lighting the way.

            “You need to get up now, Jacob.”

            My body responded to the voice.  I felt like a robot.  I lowered my legs.  I stood up.  I walked.  I obeyed the voice.

            “Where am I going?” I asked.

            “Follow the light,” said the voice and at the end of the corridor I saw an orb of light growing in strength, growing brighter and brighter.

            “Follow the light and go through the door.”

            My body obeyed the voice.

About michaeleganpoetry

Liverpool based poet and editor. I have had four pamphlets of poetry published, most recently After Stikklestad (Knives, Forks and Spoons Press, 2010). Penned in the Margins published my first collection, Steak & Stations, in 2010.

Leave a Reply

