Posted on

All Fell Down Chapter Three

I was thirteen when I woke up but I’d been asleep for thirty years.  That’s what the file said. 

            Subject Jacob – Induced February 12th 2093.  Awoken March 11th 2123.

            But my body was different.  It wasn’t the body of a thirteen year old boy anymore.  Not a normal thirteen year old boy anyway.

            In the days after they woke me the colour started to return to my skin.  The Computer told me the paleness was a result of the improvements.

            “What improvements?” I asked.

            In my room I undressed and stood in front of a mirror.  My whole body was pale.  I looked like I’d never seen the sun but I knew that wasn’t right.  Even though I couldn’t remember running through a field on a sunny day or anything like that I had this feeling somewhere lost inside me that I’d been normal.  That I’d had a normal life once.

            Most of my improvements were internal.  They melded neuro-enhancers onto my brain.  From now on, the Computer told me, I would never forget anything.  I would remember every detail of my life to come.

“You will remember every detail of every piece of information they give you.”

            “Who are they?” I asked.

            “They saved you,” answered the voice.

            “Who are you?” I asked.

            “I am the Computer.”

About michaeleganpoetry

Liverpool based poet and editor. I have had four pamphlets of poetry published, most recently After Stikklestad (Knives, Forks and Spoons Press, 2010). Penned in the Margins published my first collection, Steak & Stations, in 2010.

Leave a Reply

