Posted on

All Fell Down Chapter Six


 

Ask me a question and I’ll answer it.

            You want to know what has happened.  You want to know where I am so I’ll tell you.

            On May 12th 2093 the war ended.  The Fell had destroyed 82% of the Earth’s population centres and what was left of our fleet had been obliterated at the Battle of Callisto.  The Fell had already begun to repopulate the cities and what radiation their weapons created was quickly eradicated by their science.  It was a Saturday and though President Banda had only surrendered that morning the Fell had already begun terraforming the earth.

            The Fell need rain.  They need a planet with forests and moisture.  They like their own food; the beasts, plants and vegetables of their own worlds.  They like cites that rise into the sky and leave space for what they call ‘truelife’ to flourish.  The Fells are very concerned about nature just not about human nature.  Typically within a year of subduing any particular planet that planet’s native eco structure will have been completely wiped away.  No trace left.  The planet would become a Fell planet. The Fell would rename it.  They had imaginative names for their planets.  The Earth became Fell-4429.

            On May 12th 2093 I was part of one of the last remaining human resistance organisations.  My file says we were somewhere in the French Alps. It doesn’t say why I was there or what role my family had in the resistance. It doesn’t tell me how we got from England to France in the middle of a war.  It doesn’t tell me what happened to my family after I was taken.

            I was taken an hour before the Fell rounded up my resistance group. 

            My file says – Subject Jacob found sleeping in tunnel system.  Taken with Subject Drissa.  Subject Drissa did not survive transfer.  Subject Jacob induced without issue.

            They took me here.  This place is called Solace.  Solace is a moon somewhere in the Cartwheel Galaxy.  I am far away from Earth.  I am far away from Fell-4429. 

            There are over 2000 training units here but I’ve only seen inside my own unit. There are no windows in my unit.  The only room I’m allowed into is my room. I have a bed and a training station which consists of a chair I sit in for three hours each day.  The medicines and enhancement stabilisers are transferred into my body from the chair.  There is no need for needles, injections or anything like that.  I sit and I absorb whatever they need me to absorb.  Three times a day food and water is generated for me.  There is a small opening in one of the walls.  I hear this hum and that’s when I know my food and water is coming.  At first I was impressed by this but now I’m used to it.  There is the hum and then swirling lights form into my food and water.  It’s hard to keep being amazed by magic when you see it every day.

About michaeleganpoetry

Liverpool based poet and editor. I have had four pamphlets of poetry published, most recently After Stikklestad (Knives, Forks and Spoons Press, 2010). Penned in the Margins published my first collection, Steak & Stations, in 2010.

Leave a Reply

