Posted on

All Fell Down Chapter Seventeen

 

I am the last to step into a stasis pod.  I pause before I step inside.  I know this isn’t an altostasis pod but I still pause. 

            I put my hand to the orb in my chest and step inside.

            When I’m inside I close my eyes and I hear Conbright’s voice.

            “You will be asleep for two years.  When you wake you will be in orbit of Fell-4429.  Your crew will attack the pre-assigned population centres.  You will give yourself up to the Fell.  You will tell them our location.  You will return to Fell-1 with them and face torture for answers they will not get from you.  You will activate your weapon.”

            Sleep comes quickly.

            There are no dreams in a stasis sleep but Conbright’s voice seeps into my mind.  I hear his last words grow and fade, grow and fade.  “You will activate your weapon.”

            I am Subject Jacob. I am become death, the destroyer of worlds. I am a weapon.     

            I can feel the warmth of the orb in my chest.  Its heat is growing.

About michaeleganpoetry

Liverpool based poet and editor. I have had four pamphlets of poetry published, most recently After Stikklestad (Knives, Forks and Spoons Press, 2010). Penned in the Margins published my first collection, Steak & Stations, in 2010.

Leave a Reply

