Posted on

All Fell Down Chapter Fourteen

 

“Time to wake up, Jacob.”

            Petty is sitting on my bed.

            “What do you want?” I ask.

            She takes hold of my hand and starts stroking it.

            “I feel like you need to ask me something, Jacob,” she says.

            My room is black with darkness.  I can hardly see Petty but the more she strokes my hand the colder I get.  She’s ice.  She’s making me ice.

            “Who am I?”  

            She sighs.

            “I wish I could say you were my son,” she says.  “I had a son, long ago.”

            “I’m not your son,” I say.  I go to my pull my hand away but she grips hold of it hard.  She pulls my hand to her chest.  I can feel her heart beating fast but there’s no orb there. 

            “You’re not,” she says.

            We stay quiet for a while.  I lie back and I can hear the low hum of my orb.  I want to ask her what the orb is for but I know she won’t answer that.  She wants me to ask a question I already know the answer to so I ask the same question again.

            “Who am I?”

            She brings my hand to her lips and kisses it.

            “Poor Jacob,” she says as she lets my hand drop.  The cold doesn’t go.  It stays there like it’s deep in me.  “You’re a weapon, Jacob.”     

            I don’t say anything.  I don’t ask more questions but she’s come to talk. I know that.  She wants to tell me things.  She needs to. 

            “You’re going to kill them all,” she says.  She sighs again. I feel ice water fall on my hand. She’s crying.  “You’re a weapon to end the Fell once and for all.”

            Her tears are frozen now. Crystals of ice fall on my hand, my bed sheets, my leg.

            I fall asleep and I have the same dream again.  I see people, women and children, men and boys, and they’re all running and screaming.  I see a world I think must be the earth on fire but it’s not the earth from my core system, it’s not an uploaded memory, it’s the earth how it must be now. It’s Fell-4429.  It’s raining but the rain won’t douse the flames.  The people, the women and children, the men and boys, running and screaming aren’t humans.  They’re Fell and they’re all dying.

About michaeleganpoetry

Liverpool based poet and editor. I have had four pamphlets of poetry published, most recently After Stikklestad (Knives, Forks and Spoons Press, 2010). Penned in the Margins published my first collection, Steak & Stations, in 2010.

Leave a Reply

