Posted on

All fell Down Chapter Fifteen

 

My file says that my body stopped rejecting my enhancements the day before I was due to be discontinued.

            My file says – Subject shows phenomenal rate of development.  If subject continues with predicted development he will be beyond the capability of all other subjects.  Recommend Subject for Alpha role.

            Other Subjects.

            I am one of many.  I am a weapon in an arsenal.

            Petty’s words run through my mind, “Do you think the Fell should pay for what they’ve done?”

            I nod.  I always nod. 

            On the day I met the others I finally realised what kind of weapon I was.  I was a weapon to be fired at the Fell.

            “Time to wake up, Jacob.” It’s not the computer’s voice it’s Utah’s.

            He’s standing in my room, a cigarette in each hand, smiling.

            I jump from my bed.  I dress in my white jumpsuit. I glance to see if my breakfast is materialising but there’s nothing.

            “You can eat later,” says Utah.

            I follow him down the corridor and we stand together on another of the raised circular platforms.  When the flash fades I am standing in a large hangar.  The first thing I see is a ship.  It’s similar to the sleek fighters that the Earth’s fleet used to have thousands of.  It must be the last of those fighters.  The earth is covered with their shells. 

            “Redemption,” says Utah, pointing at the ship.

            I nod.

            “And here we have the Others.”  Utah is looking behind me.  I turn and see Petty.  Next to her are the others.

            There must be at least fifty of them. They are all around my age and all of them are wearing the same fitted white jumpsuit.  I can’t see the orb but I know that every one of them must have it hidden beneath their jumpsuits, pulsing, warm.

            They’re all staring forward.  None of them have reacted to my arrival.  I look at them.  They’re all human. The majority of them are boys but there are girls too.  I can’t remember the last time I saw someone my age.  I’ll never remember the last time I saw someone my age.

            Conbright’s voice cuts the silence.

            “You are ready,” he says.

            Petty walks towards me.

            “You are ready, Jacob,” she says.  It isn’t a question.  It’s a command.

            “What for?” I ask and I can hear Utah snigger.

            Petty smiles her awkward smile.  She puts a hand on mine.  Her hand is cold.  She lifts her black glasses and I see her eyes for the first time.  They are red.  Two burning scarlet eyes. 

            “It’s time to go home, Alpha,” she says.

            I shake my head.  I want to tell her I’m not Alpha.  I want to tell her I’m Jacob. I want to tell her I’m a boy with black hair and green eyes and a hard nose.  I want to tell her that I need my memories back. I want to tell that I have no home.  I want to tell her she can’t command me.  I want to tell her I am not a slave.  I want to tell her I am not a robot.

            Instead I nod.

            “Goodbye, Jacob,” says Utah.


 

About michaeleganpoetry

Liverpool based poet and editor. I have had four pamphlets of poetry published, most recently After Stikklestad (Knives, Forks and Spoons Press, 2010). Penned in the Margins published my first collection, Steak & Stations, in 2010.

Leave a Reply

