Posted on

The Condition 6

 

I won’t compromise on

entertaining I like my narratives

joyless and cut up there are

hymns for that addiction about mercy

and mountains there are hymns

that buck the trend hymns never sung

I get my first glimpse of arthur

trying not to stare at godiva

some said he’d return I left your

cheek unkissed I left the cheque

unsigned you can’t pay through

the nose for a softball game a toe-end

a closed trunk a summer gone wrong

we wheeled through chinatown

we sniffed out char sui we passed

through a gate we’ve been dead half

the while I found the same page

then I found it again in the center

of town they’re singing psalms

at the wicked in the center of silence

they’re lousy with life

About michaeleganpoetry

Liverpool based poet and editor. I have had four pamphlets of poetry published, most recently After Stikklestad (Knives, Forks and Spoons Press, 2010). Penned in the Margins published my first collection, Steak & Stations, in 2010.

Leave a Reply

