Posted on

The Condition 10 – END

 

you’re still not the quite the answer

these are still not quite love poems

believe me I tried I’m conflicted

I’m distracted by paper by a dance made

of keys I’m tugging at a surcoat I’m twice

your size with razor-sharp horns the river

is just rain we’re diagnosed bleak and bored

don’t leak don’t search retract every article

remaining there’s a hum from the library

it’s gaining momentum gangplanks are

for leaving the sea is for hiding

waves can’t subdue and chatter

won’t do draw a line through every

word I ever wrote with thick black

ink tell them I steal language tell them

to drink sake and hope when they sat me

down they said my condition is stable

I unlaced my sandals I bathed my own

feet cutting words don’t leave scars

don’t break through the skin when I’m

finished I’ll curse you’ll let the cursor

slip slowly until it falls from the screen

I know nothing about nothing

there are no words to close this scene

About michaeleganpoetry

Liverpool based poet and editor. I have had four pamphlets of poetry published, most recently After Stikklestad (Knives, Forks and Spoons Press, 2010). Penned in the Margins published my first collection, Steak & Stations, in 2010.

Leave a Reply

