Posted on

The Condition 1

 

I know nothing about

nothing I’m sick of wall to wall

books wailing tales don’t hold

any hooks or pull me in

they say get a plot I say get

the lot put it in a van

screw the quota they only

have quotas in gulags I mean in

history not now not when we know

nothing who does these days who

knows anything beyond reason I

don’t want to be reasonable I want to

fly a plane into your silence I want

to crash a plane into your education

I want to pay for it all they put on

shakespeare every monday but none

of them can read shakespeare couldn’t

shakespeare was a committee I mean

a gulag I mean he died in a gulag

he froze in the wastes he walked out

into ice and the storm took everything

he ever knew he’s like me he knows

nothing I’m like you I lie too much

someone read to me it’s the only

way I’ll ever learn I mean forget

About michaeleganpoetry

Liverpool based poet and editor. I have had four pamphlets of poetry published, most recently After Stikklestad (Knives, Forks and Spoons Press, 2010). Penned in the Margins published my first collection, Steak & Stations, in 2010.

Leave a Reply

