Posted on

The Situation 21

 

shed any delusions shed your suede

jacket disengage with the cultural

machine it’s an unused jukebox

it’s an ashtray forever stuck in a pub

table it’s a no armed bandit it’s

not paying out listen peter I said

you don’t have to go on I believe

in humanity I am one I’ve met one

this situation didn’t leap at us it

wasn’t a surprise listen peter I said

drink some more listen to monk’s

mood some more I can’t stand it listen

to eliot ness through a closed door

listen to sean connery’s death scene

I’m getting sentimental over you now that’s

the situation we’re in don’t chat carelessly

the stasi are listening nothing is displaced only

copied I said drink some more you’re

not drinking some place else you’re

not you some place else there are layers

and mirrors when I show her the mirror

she smiles when I show her the umbrella

she expects it to rain so I rain with my

fingers I said this is the situation peter

I spend my days mimicking weather systems

with my lips she’s too tired to notice sardonic wit

About michaeleganpoetry

Liverpool based poet and editor. I have had four pamphlets of poetry published, most recently After Stikklestad (Knives, Forks and Spoons Press, 2010). Penned in the Margins published my first collection, Steak & Stations, in 2010.

Leave a Reply

