Posted on

The Situation 20

 

darling when you’re near or I love

you or when words break like after

kisses then we sever I recommended

you to him I recommended we diversify

the contemporary but it was already

being done outdone I stopped

outside the philharmonic he said what’s

that book he said he used to read carver

I said we have nothing to talk

about until we talk about love he picked

up the glass he drank from the glass he

picked up a girl he drank from the girl

I could hear everyone’s heart in case I forget

what it sounded like I recorded it

I copied it I quoted from it

the drum of it and hers beating faster

than the rest you hear it best head

to head like when we dance she asked

me why I never dance she gave up asking

me why I never dance isn’t it enough

to have danced I can’t dance for thinking

of where my feet have been where

my hands have been where my pen

left its mark dear world I mean wound

I’m too old for all of this

About michaeleganpoetry

Liverpool based poet and editor. I have had four pamphlets of poetry published, most recently After Stikklestad (Knives, Forks and Spoons Press, 2010). Penned in the Margins published my first collection, Steak & Stations, in 2010.

Leave a Reply

