Posted on

The Situation 9

 

try to steady the ship steady the room

the more you try the more you remember

your grandfather was a bastard I mean

possibly russian possibly never existed

if he did he wasn’t russian just

like you’re not an allotment

on the allotment they grow

lettuce and radishes who eats

radishes there are other things

to eat like red hair and golden water

black air and a piece of whisper

shush now I don’t want to hear

about quietness I don’t want to hear

about the ring I gave you the ring you lost

I lost it I lost the ring you gave me

I don’t want you to whisper that you don’t care

I care I’m russian some part of me is russian

About michaeleganpoetry

Liverpool based poet and editor. I have had four pamphlets of poetry published, most recently After Stikklestad (Knives, Forks and Spoons Press, 2010). Penned in the Margins published my first collection, Steak & Stations, in 2010.

Leave a Reply

