Posted on

The Situation 8

 

in the structure of language there’s scaffolding

scrap that in the scaffolding there’s summer

I mean when summer gets hot when the city

gets dirty unbearable I hate cities in summer

I hate england in summer I’ll go north

for summer when no one comes looking

for me I’ll go north again and be a stranger

there are fantasies about strangers touching

strangers on the train touching strangers in toilets

making strangers out of wives a hand touches

metal scaffolding summer hunts for warmth there

but warm metal isn’t warm flesh can’t unravel a dress

unravel legs I would make myself mute if you made

yourself blind scrap that I would make myself blind

so I didn’t have to see another summer another

sunset they say there are other countries they say

there are other seasons I never get winter I never

get touched by strangers not that I want to there

was someone I knew once he said he was on the tube

he said someone put their arms round him

he said there was no one else on the train but he felt

this arm said it felt like metal but it was warm

About michaeleganpoetry

Liverpool based poet and editor. I have had four pamphlets of poetry published, most recently After Stikklestad (Knives, Forks and Spoons Press, 2010). Penned in the Margins published my first collection, Steak & Stations, in 2010.

Leave a Reply

