Posted on

The Situation 6

a boat not a boat a ship sails into

the last sunset it’s a blue sunset

and the sky is red and the sun is white

water shimmers like polished jet

like a jet necklace on a widow wrinkled

neck wrinkled newspaper we walk beneath umbrellas

we were in new york we were going to see tim

but tim was far away we were going to see andy

but andy was nowhere near new york so we got

coffee and sat beneath an oil lamp and wet cobbles violins

left on the street someone called viola

told us about a band playing I said the last band

I saw I didn’t hear a word didn’t hear a sound

viola laughed she showed us her paintings naked

girls and a naked jesus I asked her why so many

naked girls and just one jesus later I didn’t

hear a word of the band or a sound just drank

the drinks I thought I should when we went to the river

we saw a barge is that what you call them a barge not moving

morning sunrise whitened sun and hair like polished jet

About michaeleganpoetry

Liverpool based poet and editor. I have had four pamphlets of poetry published, most recently After Stikklestad (Knives, Forks and Spoons Press, 2010). Penned in the Margins published my first collection, Steak & Stations, in 2010.

Leave a Reply

