Posted on

The Situation 2

 

what do you want to know do you want

to know if I vote I don’t I never have

just like I don’t drink coffee I never have

if I’m asked I tell people I drink espresso

if I’m asked I tell people my politics are

too complicated that my father was a docker

that I lived in rubble for most of my early

years that all I really want is a pea coat

and a night with the girl I can never touch

but it’s like how I only just remembered how

we would drink tea and smoke together and talk

about politics even then I said nothing I supped

I breathed do you want me to listen

to your words when it comes down to it

we’re all commodities traders we’re all

the new iphone we’re all a new nation

south sudan I’m east timor I’m your eritrea

just once I’d like to get in a lift with a naked girl

with a girl just in her underwear and smoke

talk about the politics I don’t believe in

or call myself a cowboy a cowboy without a horse

just a cowboy in a plaid shirt and open collar

About michaeleganpoetry

Liverpool based poet and editor. I have had four pamphlets of poetry published, most recently After Stikklestad (Knives, Forks and Spoons Press, 2010). Penned in the Margins published my first collection, Steak & Stations, in 2010.

Leave a Reply

