Posted on

The Situation 15

 

you observe bad news we meet your

friends in a lebanese place I don’t eat

I’m thinking about coffee again

I’m thinking about the situation I’m facing

turbulence and anti-heartache rising

from my stomach I can taste cumin again

someone says there’s an eclipse tonight

I call them liar you look at me again the parallel

to this is a sunrise without a sun it’s

bound to happen and bad news is 25% of

the national vote of choice of a shock

for the establishment outside your friend

holds a gun to his shoulder aims it

at the moon tells me he’s been shooting

since before he could walk he’s finnish

and tall but doesn’t fire I say let’s re-organise

this situation but you can’t hear a

word I say for all the gun fire and static

About michaeleganpoetry

Liverpool based poet and editor. I have had four pamphlets of poetry published, most recently After Stikklestad (Knives, Forks and Spoons Press, 2010). Penned in the Margins published my first collection, Steak & Stations, in 2010.

Leave a Reply

