Posted on

The Situation 14

 

I promised we’d go to berlin you don’t

want to go to berlin the two boys from berlin

smoked too much and talked too much

wore jumpers in summer came late to the party

that’s berlin for you all amnesia and lakes

that’s cumbria for you all lakes and I forget

what else let’s go to kendal instead

we’ll walk there you can’t walk to berlin

or stay here read the domesday book

try to find its purpose count its pigs

I dream I know every word written

in it and recite it to you until

dinner burns blackens until

the house burns down until we’re

desensitised to surveys we’re a cuckoo

in this nest we’re smiling too wide on photographs

we’re untagging our memories I believe in

holidays I do believe me I believe

in fruitbowls and the north pole I believe

you don’t have a sonnet in you I believe

we can’t count the breaths we’ve taken yet to take

I believe in making a new language from shadows

About michaeleganpoetry

Liverpool based poet and editor. I have had four pamphlets of poetry published, most recently After Stikklestad (Knives, Forks and Spoons Press, 2010). Penned in the Margins published my first collection, Steak & Stations, in 2010.

Leave a Reply

