Posted on

The Situation 13

 

everything is a hologram for

someone I mean everything shifts

and shimmers and breaks if we’re

talking about reality then let’s forget

about language let’s forget about the economy

I can’t I can’t even forget about the light

in my dream shining into waking

or a bear becoming a bearpelt in a

bearpit I can’t put on a coat

and call myself clothed tear myself apart

I’m bluffing I’m inflexible just kneeling

makes me crack and there’s probably

melancholy somewhere getting written

into bliss into the language

I can’t get at it I steal it from books

I steal codex and parchment lift elixir

and a butcher’s dolphin take traffic island porch

lights and axes in meaning I sleepwalk

and mentally undress I mean physically undress

I mean I sleep with you and we undress

you show me the tattoo of your name on your thigh

About michaeleganpoetry

Liverpool based poet and editor. I have had four pamphlets of poetry published, most recently After Stikklestad (Knives, Forks and Spoons Press, 2010). Penned in the Margins published my first collection, Steak & Stations, in 2010.

Leave a Reply

