Posted on

The Situation 10

 

today is sunday the day of the circle

like the sun is a circle like the sun is

a coin we were two men drinking

one of us left all their coins

at the bar discarded copper one of

us went stateside went HBOside went mad

for narrative I said whenever you say narrative

you mean anecdote I said don’t quote

me on that don’t make me quotidian

he said I’m going southside make

myself antipodean I sat in a bath and let

the room fill with steam I couldn’t see

my own body there are hotel rooms like

this I said she said her nipples were hurting

she said her stomach was hurting I opened

a window and let the steam escape fleeing

air into air I said I have no hair on my chest

or my legs the mirror was a circle her nipples

were red and circles we watched mad men

About michaeleganpoetry

Liverpool based poet and editor. I have had four pamphlets of poetry published, most recently After Stikklestad (Knives, Forks and Spoons Press, 2010). Penned in the Margins published my first collection, Steak & Stations, in 2010.

Leave a Reply

