Posted on

All the Mead-drink I Need is a Salt-wavy Tumult and an Ice-cold Wave

 

I stepped into the sea and its bosom was bitter and I didn’t care

about anything except for how cold the water was, how cold your hands are,

how waves rose like breasts, bitter waves, careless waves,

and as I drowned I remembered that Barack Obama is an anagram

of ‘I love Belarusian Commies’ or ‘I’m instrumenting bad politics’ or ‘Be My Only One’,

that was a song I couldn’t escape from, a woman’s voice, a woman I knew once,

singing ‘Be my only one’ over and over, no, not that,

singing ‘Be the jargon of a journey, be hardship oft endured

or ‘Hold me against your keel, let the sea surge over me’,

listen, some men believe the sea is all about rebirth, like Christ  

would drown me  if he had the chance, like if something is lost in water,

however flimsy, it will come out true, there’ll be beaches from Crosby

to Rhyl covered with truth, with nothing that could ever be jarg

like how everything we ever believed  about the 1970s was a lie,

how I was lucky to miss that decade,  how the girls shouldn’t have worn such short skirts

or danced or had legs,  I never danced, I only wandered, I only let age overcome me,

let my face go pale, listen, only last week I brushed a comb through my hair

and the grey ones, the dead ones, were reborn, jet strands, obsidian waves,

no, not waves just sorrow like the sorrow of drowning, of a grave strewn with water,

with fish, with goldfish, no, not goldfish, just gold,

and there comes no RNLI lifeboat, no brave men in golden armour,

no, there comes no sea trawling saviour like those gone,

just a wave buried body and a hoard sunk to the water’s depths

because all its treasure was jarg and all its self-song was flimsy.

About michaeleganpoetry

Liverpool based poet and editor. I have had four pamphlets of poetry published, most recently After Stikklestad (Knives, Forks and Spoons Press, 2010). Penned in the Margins published my first collection, Steak & Stations, in 2010.

Leave a Reply

