Posted on

Lyrpole and the Jarg Flim 16

it’s only when I’m away that I realise

all of this; how Blue Bell Lane I love you,

how Abercromby Square I haven’t found

a square quite like you and I love you, how that tree in Calderstones

I love you, that old tree, how Prince Rupert’s Tower,

despite everything, I love you, how when the Number 10 bus

turns onto London Road and I can almost

taste the city and the lions in front of St George’s Hall

I love you, how Stadt Moers Park I hated you

and now I love you, how Island Road

I never walk you calmly but I love you,

how where Lancashire meets Maghull

and I can’t swallow because I feel it, I love you,

how the walk from the Ship and Mitre down past Rigby’s

as Wales fades and despite what they’ve done

to the docks how I love you, how that alley

between Adswood Road and Huyton Lane that follows

the sewer and the cricket ground, does anyone play

cricket here, I love you, how the hollow of Cressington

Station I love you, how the old tram lines

by The Belvedere I love you, how there are so many

mysteries about what actually goes on in Birkenhead and I love you,

how on Blacklow Brow I ran all the way home and I love you,

but none of that’s true is it, it’s only a liar’s hymn,

but some believe in permanency and that’s fine,

if there’s permanency, and I doubt it,

then the riches of this place will stand forever

and someday, soon probably, someone

will say all that and mean every last word

About michaeleganpoetry

Liverpool based poet and editor. I have had four pamphlets of poetry published, most recently After Stikklestad (Knives, Forks and Spoons Press, 2010). Penned in the Margins published my first collection, Steak & Stations, in 2010.

Leave a Reply

