Posted on

Lyrpole and the Jarg Flim 14

there are no minutes left,

no time enough for waiting

for anyone to listen,

for the sea, when it has you,

when it’s swallowing you,

drowns out sound and it’s only

as I write drowns that I make

the connection and it’s only

as I write connection that I can hear you,

that my phone lights up and your

voice calls my name, not in a good way,

it’s how you use my name when

stuff gets wrecked, when we’re wrecked,

now wait a minute, now hold onto your words

before they flow away and everything

gets out of hand, gets drowned,

don’t you know how I rode my BMX

around the world for you,

how my arse ached, how many times

I went flying off it, how many wounds

my jeans hide, my knee-torn jeans,

go on, take them off and I’ll tell you

where each little scar happened

like that one on my left knee,

zigzagging and deep, I did that in Copenhagen

because I mistook the Little Mermaid

for you, okay, I admit it,

I tried it on with her and it worked

but does that matter when my knee is so marked,

look at this next one, there on my right knee,

it’s long and red and it happened

in Rio, no I wasn’t dancing,

I was riding hard because I thought you

were Christ, I thought you could redeem me,

I thought your arms were wide open

to receive me, all sins forgiven

and all that, was that so naïve,

are any of my scars naïve,

tell me this one, this bone revealing cut,

is naïve, tell me it wasn’t worth

going down to the dirt on the Silk Road

because I was dying okay, I was thirsty

and I thought you were the sun,

God, I always thought you were the sun,

I was shouting ‘Fuck you, don’t

you set on me, don’t you set on me”,

of course none of this is news to you,

you know how my heart can’t resist you,

you know I’m not talking about a literal you,

you know how the sea is calm,

how I’m never calm, how I’m too eager, too unsated

About michaeleganpoetry

Liverpool based poet and editor. I have had four pamphlets of poetry published, most recently After Stikklestad (Knives, Forks and Spoons Press, 2010). Penned in the Margins published my first collection, Steak & Stations, in 2010.

Leave a Reply

